Vaping Regulations | State-by-State

Due to the complexity of the vaping landscape in the US, new vapers don’t understand the law when it comes to things such as age restrictions, vaping in public, vaping regulations, etc. It is important to note that there are many laws that regulate vaping at the state level. Please note that these laws keep on changing and it is, therefore, crucial that you familiarize yourself with the laws in your local jurisdiction. Here are some of the state laws and vaping regulations as of Oct 2016:

                                                              Alabama

  • It is illegal for anyone under the age of 19 years to use, possess or purchase an alternative nicotine product.

                                                                Alaska

  • Sale or distribution of any nicotine product to anyone under the age of 19 is prohibited.

                                                               Arizona

  • Sale of vapor product to anyone under the age of 18 years is prohibited.
  • Possession or purchase of vapor product by anyone under the age of 18 years is prohibited.
  • It is illegal to use e-cigarettes in foster homes and vehicles especially when the foster child is present.

                                                            Arkansas

  • Sale of e-liquids and vapor products prohibited.
  • Use of vapor products or e-liquids on any off-campus school-sponsored events or the grounds of any school prohibited. It is also illegal to use these products in healthcare or child-care facilities.
  • Restricted use of e-cigarettes near State Park buildings.
  • Using e-cigarettes in any registered childcare facility is illegal.

                                                          California

  • It is illegal to sell electronic cigarettes to anyone under the age of 21. 
  • Prohibited use of e-cigarettes wherever smoking is restricted. This includes working premises, foster and group homes, family day care facilities, in cars in the presence of minors, etc.
  • Illegal to use nicotine delivery devices in charter schools, education county offices, school/district property, buildings and vehicles.
  • Director of State Hospitals has the power to ban tobacco product possession or use on state hospital if requested.

                                          Colorado

  • Illegal to sell or distribute nicotine products to anyone under the age of 18 years.
  • People under the age of 18 years are prohibited from purchasing or possessing any nicotine product.
  • Restricted sale of vending machines to more private locations, e.g. offices, or places which are inaccessible to minors.
  • Prohibited sale or use of nicotine products on school grounds or licensed child care facilities.

                                                          Connecticut

  • Prohibited sale to anyone under the age of 18 years.
  • Prohibited possession or purchase of an electronic nicotine delivery system to anyone under the age of 18 years.
  • Manufacturers of vapor products or electronic nicotine delivery systems (including the compounding, repackaging, resizing or mixing of any nicotine product) must be registered with the state.
  • Prohibited use of vapor products or electronic nicotine delivery system in any health care institution, state building, restaurant, retail food store, bar (except in the smoking sections), child care facilities, elevators, school building, race tracks, college dormitories and in more than 25% of motel or hotel rooms.

                                                                Delaware

  • Prohibited sale or distribution of tobacco substitutes to anyone under the age of 18 years.
  • It is illegal for anyone under the age of i8 years to purchase any tobacco substitute.
  • Prohibited use of e-cigarettes wherever smoking is restricted, e.g. in public indoor places.
  • Permitted use of electronic smoking devices in vape shops. However, only people over the age of 18 years can be allowed in.

                                                  District of Columbia

  • Prohibited use of e-cigarettes on streetcar platform or streetcar.
  • Prohibited use of e-cigarettes in or within twenty-five feet of any public library building.

                                                     Florida

  • Prohibited sale or distribution of nicotine products or nicotine-delivering devices to people under the age of 18 years.
  • Illegal for persons under the age of 18 years to possess any nicotine product or nicotine dispensing devices.
  • Prohibited use of e-cigarettes in courthouses of Sixth Judicial Circuit or within fifty feet of entrances.
  • Prohibited use of electronic cigarettes in all firefighting premises.

                                                Georgia

  • Prohibited sale of vapor products to anyone under the age of 18 years.
  • Illegal for persons under the age of 18 years to purchase or possess any vapor product.

                                                Hawaii

  • Prohibited sale or distribution of e-cigarettes to persons under the age of 21 years.
  • Illegal for anyone under the age of 21 years to purchase an electronic smoking device.
  • Prohibited use of e-cigarettes wherever smoking is restricted, such as enclosed places owned, operated or leased by the counties or the state, areas of work, open to the public, sports arenas, and within twenty feet of exits or entrances to such premises.
  • Prohibited use of e-cigarettes in state parks.
  • Illegal to use e-cigarettes in Hawaii Health Systems Corporation property (Both indoor and outdoor areas)

                                                          Idaho

  • Prohibited sale or distribution of electronic smoking devices to people under the age of 18 years.
  • Illegal for anyone under the age of 18 years to possess, purchase or distribute electronic smoking devices.

                                                         Illinois

  • Prohibited sale or distribution of nicotine substitutes to people under the age of 18 years.
  • Illegal for anyone under the age of 18 years to possess an alternative nicotine product.
  • Restricted use of nicotine-containing products wherever smoking is prohibited.

                                                      Indiana

  • Prohibited sale or distribution of electronic smoking devices to people under the age of 18 years.
  • Illegal for anyone under the age of 18 years to possess or purchase electronic smoking devices.
  • Prohibited sale of e-liquids to people under the age of 18 years.

                                                        Iowa

  • Prohibited sale or distribution of vapor products to people under the age of 18 years.
  • Illegal for anyone under the age of 18 years to purchase, use or possess vapor products.
  • Prohibited use of e-cigarettes on state-owned/operated buildings and any outdoor ground used in connection with the building (Except privately-owned buildings located on Capitol Complex property.

Kansas

  • It is illegal to distribute or sell electronic cigarettes to any person who is under 18 years of age.
  • The law prohibits any person under the age of 18 years to purchase or to be in possession of electronic cigarettes.

Kentucky

  • The law prohibits the purchase of vapor products or any other nicotine products by any person under the age of 18 years of age.
  • It is illegal to sell vapor products or any nicotine product to persons under the age of 18 years.
  • Use or possession of vape products by persons under the age of 18 years is prohibited.
  • Using electronic cigarettes in hallways and courtrooms is illegal. The court of The Hardin District prohibits smoking in its courtrooms.
  • The law prohibits the use of vapor products and devices on any property owned by the Executive arm of the government

Louisiana

  • It is illegal to distribute vapor products to any person under the age of 18 years.
  • The law prohibits any person under the age of 18 years from purchasing vapor products.
  • Any person under the age of 18 years is not allowed to possess any vapor product unless a parent accompanies her/him.

Maine

  • It is illegal to distribute or to sell vapor products to a person under the age of 18 years.
  • The law requires employees of e-cigarette to be 17 years of age and above. If the employee’s age is between 17 and 21 years, he/she must be under the supervision of a person who is over 21 years of age.
  • It is illegal to use electronic smoking devices in places where smoking is prohibited. Such areas include places of employment, daycare facilities, beaches and state parks.

Maryland

  • The law prohibits the sale of any product used to refill an electronic device or used to supply vapor products to persons inhaling from the device including cigar, an electronic cigarette or pipe to minors. The only exception to this law is tobacco cessation products which are approved by FDA.

Massachusetts

  • It is illegal to supply electronic smoking devices to persons under the age of 18 years.
  • Prohibited sampling of electronic sampling devices.

Michigan

  • There is no law regulating the Vaping industry.

Minnesota

  • The law prohibits distribution or sale of electronic smoking devices to persons under the age of 18 years.
  • It is illegal to use or to be in possession of an electronic delivery device by a person who is under 18 years of age.
  • It is prohibited to use electronic delivery devices in health care facilities, day care centers or any government-owned property.
  • It is illegal to use electronic delivery devices in public schools or any property owned or leased by a school district.

Mississippi

  • The law prohibits the sale of any nicotine product to a person under the age of 18 years.

Missouri

  • It is illegal to sell or distribute vaping products to any person under 18 years of age.
  • The law prohibits persons under the age of 18 years from purchasing vapor products.

Montana

  • It is illegal to distribute or to sell vaping products to any person under the age of 18 years.
  • The law prohibits any person under the age of 18 years from using or being in possession of any vapor product.

Nebraska

  • It is illegal to sell or distribute vapor products to any person under the age of 18 years.
  • It is illegal to use vapor products by persons under 18 years of age.

Nevada

  • It is a criminal offense to sell or distribute vapor products to any person under the age of 18 years.

New Hampshire

  • It is an offense to sell or to distribute e-cigarettes and nicotine products to persons under 18 years of age.
  • The law prohibits any person under the age of 18 years from purchasing, using or being in possession of e-cigarettes or any liquid nicotine product.
  • It is not allowed to use e-cigarette or liquid nicotine in public educational centers and its grounds.

New Jersey

  • It is illegal to sell or distribute electronic smoking devices to any person under the age of 19 years.
  • It is illegal to use any smoking device under the definition of smoking in public schools and public facilities.

New Mexico

  • The law punishes any person who sells or distributes e-cigarettes and any liquid nicotine to persons under the age of 18 years.
  • The law prohibits any person under age 18 years from procuring e-cigarette or any nicotine liquid container.

New York

  • It is illegal to sell or to distribute e-cigarettes or liquid nicotine to any person who is under the age of 18 years.
  • Use of e-cigarettes is not allowed on Niagara Frontier Transportation Authority Property.

North Carolina

  • The law prohibits sale or distribution of vaping products to persons under 18 years of age.
  • It is illegal for a person who is under 18 years of age to purchase vapor products.
  • The law does not allow distribution of vaping products to inmates.
  • It is illegal to be in possession or to use vapor products on state facilities except for religious objectives.
  • Using e-cigarettes at child day care facilities is illegal.

North Dakota

  • It is illegal to sell or to distribute electronic smoking devices to any person under 18 years of age.
  • Purchasing, using or being in possession of vaping devices by persons under the age of 18 years is prohibited by the law.
  • Smoking and the use of e-cigarettes is not allowed in public places. It is also unethical to smoke within 20 feet of ventilation systems.

Ohio

  • It is illegal to sell or distribute alternative nicotine products to persons under the age of 18 years.
  • It is illegal to purchase, use or be in possession of alternative nicotine products by any person under the age of 18.
  • The law prohibits the use of e-cigarettes in the capital buildings.
  • It is not legal to use electronic cigarettes on Cincinnati University properties.
  • The law prohibits the use of e-cigarettes on Cuyahoga Community college premises.
  • It is an offense to use electronic nicotine delivery systems at Kent University and its properties.

Oklahoma

  • It is illegal for a person under the age of 18 years to purchase or possess vapor products.
  • It is illegal to sell or to distribute vapor products to any person under the age of 18 years.
  • It is an offense to use vaping products on properties owned by the state including buildings.

Oregon

  • It is an offense to sell the inhalant delivery system to any person who is under 18 years of age.
  • A person under the age of 18 years is not allowed to purchase or to be in possession of inhalant delivery system.
  • Public and private schools, youth centers and juvenile detention facilities are required to prohibit use and possession of inhalant delivery system by any youth who is below the age of 18 years.
  • It is an offense to use vaporizing inhalants in public places, child day care facilities and within 10 feet of entrances or exits and ventilation spaces of enclosed areas.
  • Using inhalant delivery systems in hospitals is illegal.
  • The law does not allow the use of the inhalant delivery system by adults in a car when a minor under the age of 18 years is present.

Pennsylvania

  • There is no law regulating the vaping industry in this state.

Rhode Island

  • The law prohibits sale or distribution of electronic nicotine delivery system to any person under the age of 18 years.
  • Any person under 18 years of age is not allowed to purchase or to be in possession of a nicotine delivery system in public.
  • It is an offense to use electronic cigarettes in ambulances.

South Dakota

  • It is a criminal offense to sell or to distribute any vapor product to persons under the age of 18 years.
  • Persons under the age of 18 years are not allowed to purchase, use or to be in possession of vapor products.
  • Department of Corrections policy does not allow staffs and all offenders to use electronic cigarettes in all buildings and offices owned by the department.

Tennessee

  • It is an offense to sell or to distribute vapor products to any person under 18 years of age.
  • Any person under the age of 18 is not allowed to purchase or to be in possession of vapor products.

Texas

  • It is an offense to sell or to distribute e-cigarettes to any person under the age of 18 years.
  • Persons under the age of 18 years are not allowed to purchase, use or to be in possession of e-cigarettes unless he or she possesses it in the presence of an adult parent.
  • The law restricts the use of e-cigarettes to designated areas in schools, museums, and hospitals.
  • The law requires school trustees to prohibit students from possessing e-cigarettes at a school-related activity or property.
  • Using vapor products inside the Department of Criminal Justice is illegal.

Utah

  • The law prohibits sale and distribution of e-cigarettes to any person under the age of 19 years.
  • It is an offense for any person under age of 18 years to purchase or to possess e-cigarettes.
  • It is an offense punishable by the state to distribute or to deliver e-cigarettes in a correctional property.
  • School boards are required to enforce laws prohibiting use or possession of e-cigarettes on school premises or at any school-sponsored activity.

Vermont

  • It is prohibited to sell or to distribute tobacco products to any person under 18 years of age.
  • It is an offense for a person under the age of 18 years to purchase or to be in possession of vapor products.
  • It is not allowed to use vapor products at any child care center.
  • The law does not allow the use of tobacco products on school compounds or at any school-related activity.
  • Use of vapor products is not allowed in working places except in vape shops.
  • Use of vapor products is not allowed in cars in the presence of young kids.

Virginia

  • It is not allowed to sell vape products to any person under 18 years of age.
  • A person under the age of 18 years is not allowed to purchase or to possess any vapor products.

Washington

  • It is an offense punishable by the law to sell vapor products to persons under the age of 18 years.
  • Any person under the age of 18 years is not allowed to purchase or to possess vapor products.
  • It is not allowed to use vapor products in and on compounds of child care centers and schools.
  • The law prohibits the use of vapor products within public institutions of higher education.

West Virginia

  • The law prohibits sale or distribution of vapor components to any person under the age of 18.
  • Persons under the age of 18 years are not allowed to use or to possess any vapor product.
  • It is an offense to use vapor products in schools.

Wisconsin

  • The law does not allow sale or distribution of vapor products to any person under the age of 18 years.
  • Purchase or possession of vapor products by persons under 18 years of age is punishable by the state.

Wyoming

  • It is an offense to sell e-cigarettes to persons under the age of 18.
  • Persons under the age of 18 years are not allowed to purchase or to possess any vapor product.
  • The state prohibits the use of e-cigarettes in child care centers especially in the presence of the minors.

These are the vaping regulations by state. We hope you found this info informative!

You may also like our article on troubleshooting vape problems!

 

Writer, Vaper, Advocate

Have an idea? Comment below!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *